Additional 2021 California Distinguished Schools Include Twenty-Two Los Angeles Unified High Schools

Additional 2021 California Distinguished Schools Include
Twenty-Two Los Angeles Unified High Schools

LOS ANGELES (April 28, 2021) – An expanded list of California Distinguished Schools includes 22 high schools in Los Angeles Unified, State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond has announced.

The schools are among an additional 121 secondary schools in the state being honored for having outstanding education programs and practices, closing the achievement gap and for achieving exceptional student performance all around.

“I am delighted to see the state recognize the progress being made at so many of our schools where extraordinary things are happening,” Superintendent Austin Beutner said. “We are grateful for the hard work of the administrators, educators and staff for helping our students get a great education.”

California Distinguished Schools Awardees 2021 include:

Alliance Collins Family College-Ready High School

Alliance Leichtman-Levine Family Foundation Environmental Science High School

Alliance Marc & Eva Stern Math and Science High School

Alliance Margaret M. Bloomfield Technology Academy High School

Alliance Tennenbaum Family Technology High School

Downtown Business High

Dr. Richard A. Vladovic Harbor Teacher Preparation Academy

Ednovate – USC Hybrid High College Prep

Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet High School

Granada Hills Charter High School

Grover Cleveland Charter High School

High Tech Los Angeles Charter High School

John Marshall Senior High School

Linda Esperanza Marquez Senior High School Huntington Park Institute of Applied Medicine

Los Angeles Center for Enriched Studies

Math and Science College Preparatory High School

Math, Science, & Technology Magnet Academy at Theodore Roosevelt Senior High School

Orthopaedic Hospital Medical Magnet High School

PUC Lakeview Charter High School

Social Justice Leadership Academy Magnet at Esteban E. Torres High School

STEM Academy at Bernstein Senior High School

William Howard Taft Charter High School

“Congratulations to our California Distinguished Schools,” Board President Kelly Gonez said. “Los Angeles Unified has such excellent schools throughout our District, and I celebrate the amazing educators, parents, and students for the hard work that has led to this well-deserved recognition.”

“Congratulations to our schools receiving this special recognition for their dedication to excellence in education,” Board Member Dr. George J. McKenna III said. “This cohort of schools also speaks to the power of public education and highlights a sampling of the academic programs offered across the District.”

“I am incredibly proud of our school teams, families, and most importantly, outstanding students for their accomplishments,” Board Member Mónica García said. “The past year has been challenging and everyone has been a champion in one way or another. We see our beliefs and behaviors represented in this distinction.”

“Congratulations to ALL the Los Angeles Unified schools who, even in the midst of a virulent pandemic, have distinguished themselves for excellent teaching and learning,” Board Member Scott M. Schmerelson said. “I would particularly like to extend kudos to the students, families, and staff of Grover Cleveland Charter High School, in Board District 3, for their efforts. Bravo!”

“Congratulations to all of these new California Distinguished Schools for this well-deserved recognition of your hard work and achievements,” Board Member Nick Melvoin said. “These schools demonstrate what is possible in LA Unified, and as we celebrate their success, we must also work to replicate it, so every student has access to a high-quality education.”

“I am so proud of students, teachers and all staff at John Marshall Senior High School for their outstanding accomplishments,” Board Member Jackie Goldberg said. “It’s very important to be recognized by the State for our educators’ role in helping our students become outstanding members of society.”

“Congratulations to all of our Los Angeles Unified schools for receiving this incredible recognition,” Board Member Tanya Ortiz Franklin said. “Thank you to all of our scholars, educators, school leaders, families and communities for working together to accomplish this achievement.”